Quote

“What matters most…”

“What matters most in life are quotes and stuff that tells you what life is really about. . .and here’s a picture of a flower.”

Image

The first time I read this quote I was offended, in fact I was thoroughly put out.

The 1000 and more quotes, blue tacked to my wall, saved to my laptop, and stapled to my brain, meant nothing in the case of this single quote. I might as well strip my bedroom walls, delete my files and shred my brain where this quote was concerned. Those long hours spent writing up the words of wisdom, and the cartridges of ink used up in printing the words of advice, were all for nothing.

Because you see, it was mocking quotes (most of which are remembered and noted for their wisdom and understanding, support and advice for living life). It was basically saying the survival of life cannot be written as an instruction manual in single phrase, nor can it be written at all. We get carried away by the words, without realising the true meaning.

It seemed to me that this quote was saying stop reading about how to live life and instead just live it! After awhile when this meaning had sunk in, I began to look at the way I used the quotes all around me. More often than not, I read them for a burst of inspiration and motivation, but they never really developed true meaning in the overall patterns of my life. I used them and threw them away whenever I needed them.
That’s when I realised I had become a hypocrite; I read the quotes and gave them to others as advice, but when it came to reading them for myself and acting upon them in my own life, I only ever saw the words. I only ever read the words, but never read the true, deeper meaning.

SO I have decided to change this. Quotes are powerful. That is why they are quotes. Snippets of a conversation, of a knowing, saved in time. And they do provide hearty advice when you need it most. But instead of just reading the words, I’m going to use the words to create meaning in my own life.

I have decided I will do this by choosing a quote each week (maybe out of a hat?) and using it and relating it to my daily living of life. I will post this quote at the start of the week, and by the end of the week I will have woven a story of how I’ve sewn the quote into my life, which I will then post for you.

I could end up doing some crazy things, I might just be crazy by the end of it, but its time to stop being a hypocrite annnnd (clichΓ© but true), its time to start living life to the fullest!

So my first quote will be: “Don’t be sad it’s over, be happy that it happened.”

Why this quote you might ask? You’ll see πŸ˜‰

6 thoughts on ““What matters most…”

  1. i’m so glad you’ve written this samala! it’s so beautifully written and seriously inspirational πŸ™‚ even though i don’t know the full story and i know you don’t want want to tell everyone but if you ever need advice etc i’m happy to offer it πŸ™‚
    Lozza xxx
    p.s. check out ma blog yo

  2. nicole says:

    Love it sammy you really are an inspiration to us all now and always have been. Miss ya heaps love nicoley xx ❀

Leave a Reply

